Post the Seventieth or I Want to Live

I used to be gagged by

Fear

My mouth stuffed with

The white cloth of silence

Stifling my screams

Sometimes it felt like I was biting more than I could chew

A constant, overwhelming, emptiness that filled my mouth

Othertimes it felt like my very soul was being pulled out

Inch by agonizing inch

To be consumed and erased by those who say

I’m colorblind. Can’t was just love everyone?

And then

I looked up at the night sky

And saw myself written in the stars

I looked down at my feet

And felt the fierce gentleness of my Mother

I looked behind me

And saw the many miles that my ancestors walked

I looked into my lover’s eyes

And saw myself reflected in his love

He reached into my heart

Eased the knot that constricted my spirit

And my voice

Burst out fierce, blisteringly hot, and blazing with a power

That moves to tears

And makes white supremacy uncomfortable

A clarion call for revolution

A challenge that says

I won’t be silent any longer because

Silences equals Death

And I want to live

She told me that she supported me

But that I was too angry

And wouldn’t it be better for everyone if you just toned yourself down?

I told her

My anger is a result of my experience

And wouldn’t it be better for everyone

If you just gave back the land that you stole?

About witchymorgan

I'm a 22 year old womanist, sex positive, pansexual, polyamorous, queer, bruja, transwoman. Social justice activist by day, social justice activist by night. Fun! View all posts by witchymorgan

One response to “Post the Seventieth or I Want to Live

  • kundawicce

    Too many races on Earth are aggressive, land-grabbing. Just when I think we British Isle types are the worst, I get reminded about the Germans, the French, the Han, the Russians, the Italians, all the colonizing, conquering types. We eat the races who love their own lands and live in harmony on them.

    The only possible sweetness in sight is reflected in what happened to the Imported Fire Ants: they arrived, they ate everything alive literally, when natural enemies from their home territory (Patagonia) were introduced, they faded from prominence. Where is the phorid fly/ the parasitoid wasp to control imperialism?

Say something, hear something

